Chancellor’s Student Service and Leadership Awards (CSSLA)

Since 1973, the Chancellor’s Student Service and Leadership Awards (CSSLA) ceremony has recognized outstanding student leaders and student volunteers who, while maintaining high academic achievement, demonstrate a commitment to the UIC community through participation in student organizations and campus activities and throughout the greater Chicagoland area through active service and community engagement.

Students may be nominated for the following awards, presented each year at the CSSLA program:

  • The Chancellor’s Student Service Award (CSSA)
  • The Eugertha Bates Memorial Award
  • The Jane Addams Distinguished Service Award
  • Center for Student Involvement Annual Awards
  • Induction into the Activities Honorary Society

This year's ceremony, originally scheduled to take place on April 23, 2020, has been cancelled due to the university policy and procedure changes from the Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). The Chancellor’s Student Service and Leadership Award recipients will still be selected and honored, and all recipients will be notified via email with more information.